Friday, 7 June 2013

This is the ONLY time #ForBachelorsOnly

I accidentally woke up two hours earlier than I should, such a #bummer. So I decided to invest a few minutes into my blog because I have been a stranger here since my June started crazy with lots of work and events.

I went to bed annoyed by a few things about being a bachelor. It gets to me at times, but it is ok because my major responsibilities are still my mother, nephew and myself, in that order. She's actually become less demanding these days, I think she has a boyfriend. On the other hand my nephew worries me with his tantrums and how he thinks we are the same age or maybe I'm younger. I don't think at 4 I was that dramatic and a bully. He is picking up on labels and now demands to wear Polo or Guess stuff to school and fights his mother. He hates tomato sauce and a few other things that kids love. I might be to blame. LOL!
 
Anyway, as I sat in bed enjoying my new addiction, tea, after a night out. I tried to count my blessings but I didn't want to get myself in trouble with God because I would start complaining. I ended up drawing a list in my mind of all the things I can do now...

 After twenty-five before thirty there is so little you can do but you are allowed to be an extremist. Wow! Can't believe I just associated myself with the big three-zero. This is where I get my latest line before I make any crazy purchase or disappear into the wild nights of Gauteng. My new line, 'this is the only time...'

Let me try to break it down to you by giving you a few examples of what this means.

This is the only time....

 - You can afford to buy the craziest pair of shoes worth anything around R4000 because you don't have a family to provide for. What's ‘a few weeks’ on cereal and chicken mayo sandwich 24/7? *shrugs*

- This is the only time you can purchase a convertible two door and be the guy in the 'red sports car' who dresses and looks like he just stepped out of GQ pages and not have a nagging woman/man on your shoulder.

- You can be the main and only member on your medical aid. Use it as much as you can and enjoy it. I'm actually going to start visiting my Dr when I have hangovers.

- You can be arrested for driving over the speed limit, spend the night in a cell and make jokes about it at the bar.

- You can afford to live in an up market townhouse with the furniture YOU like and always have the TV on your favourite channel.

- You can stay in bed until 1pm without anyone complaining or waking up to your mother in law screaming "Dear Lord, does he ever get out of bed! I think he'll die and you won't even know." from the lounge. When did she get here??
 
- You can save something as hilarious as R800pm and not feel guilty.

- You can commit to two or more jobs and still have time to party and study. #StoryOfMyLife

- This is the only time you can ask your siblings for R1500 loans half-way through the month and not be embarrassed to even have dinner at their place for the whole week. Hope you don't do this to your moms guys. LOL #SideEyesSomeone
 
- You can afford to take work home and actually get it done. No brat will be screaming 'wook' in attempt to say 'look' and next thing the fool points at a curtain.

- As a PR guy this is the ONLY time people will be fascinated by the well-spoken black guy who always laughs and closes deals like a pro. My greatest fear is being 33 and at events on Wednesday nights trying to get the Director's number. I would rather be stuck marking scripts in my house as a lecturer or a lifestyle magazine editor trotting the globe on food/wine tasting sprees etc. I wouldn't want to shame myself competing with 25-30 year old #CorporateProstitutes. Surely my system won't allow late nights and early mornings, but the reverse.

- You can afford to kiss and tell. After 30 you'll pay someone to keep it a secret. After 35 you threaten to kill them. After 40 your blood pressure would shoot at their sight. After 50 wouldn't be sure if it's the same person you were with. LMAO

That's just to give you an idea of how I feel about being over 25 and approaching that number that I mentioned before. Life gets serious but it is ok to be a little disorganized but not too messy with your time, finances, health, lifestyle and faith.

My turmoil is always brought by the question I ask myself EVERYDAY before I go to bed, even in the least state of sobriety I ask myself "What was my highlight today?"

I still laugh at myself when I don't have any, but I pray for better days. It is ok not to have the most exciting days, as much as it is ok to over celebrate little achievements now and again. I think it builds morale for bigger ones.

To you my friend, I say: make the best out of the weekends, take that risk and finish off the sentence "This is the ONLY time I can...”

Good luck!!